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POLICY #4 

p. 1 of 5 
 

Subject Percentage Reduction for Non-compliance with Petroleum Storage Tank (UST) Regulations; 
Denial for Substantial Non-compliance 

Adopted 10/15/2014; 5/18/2012; 12/19/2008; 7/21/2006; 7/26/2002; 1/21/2000; 5/21/1999; 4/4/1997; 
1/5/1996; 8/4/1995 

 
The Committee will use the following guidelines as it determines the amount of percentage reduction, if any, to 

apply to the reimbursement award noncompliance, as well as whether an application should be denied for 

substantial noncompliance. 

 
The tank operating regulatory issues to be considered are: 

A. Registration 

B. Release Detection 

C. Release Reporting 

D. Closure 
 

Exceptions to Policy 4 

Abandoned/orphaned tank exceptions 

No percentage reduction applies, nor are unpaid registration fees or penalties due, if the violation pertains to an 
abandoned or orphan tank. 

 
Registration exceptions 

No percentage reduction applies, nor will registration fees and penalties be collected, for any full year when the 

applicant was not the owner/operator. 

 
Release reporting exceptions 

No percentage reduction applies for release reporting violations that occurred when the applicant was not the 

owner/operator. 

 
Closure exceptions 

1. No percentage reduction applies for closure violations concerning a tank that was permanently closed 

before the applicant became the owner/operator of the facility if the tank is not involved in the remediation to 

which the subject application pertains. 

2. No percentage reduction applies if, at the time the applicant became the owner/operator, tanks were in 

temporary closure longer than permitted by the regulations provided the applicant permanently closes the 

tanks properly within six months of becoming the owner/operator of the facility, or receives an extension to 

temporary closure from the Division of Oil and Public Safety (OPS). 

3. No percentage reduction applies for closure violations that occur after the applicant is no longer the 

owner/operator. 

 
(Citation references are to the Colorado Division of Oil and Public Safety's Storage Tank Regulations, found at 7 

CCR 1101-14 and Colorado Revised Statutes, found at C.R.S. 8-20.5.) 
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Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 

Registration (total reduction for all registration issues cannot exceed 10%) 

Failure to register petroleum storage tanks with OPS within 30 days after putting tanks into service. 

[Cit. ref. §2-2-3(UST) and §3-2-4(2)(ii) (AST)] 
10% 

Failure to pay annual tank registration fees in year(s) due. [Cit. ref. §2-2-3(j) and §3-2-3(AST)] 5% 

Failure to submit updated registration form within 30 days of change in operation for UST’s. 5% 

Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §2-2-3(d)] 5% 

Failure to submit updated registration form within 30 days for AST’s. [Cit. ref. §3-2-4(a)(2)(iii) ] 10% 

Note: When tanks are closed and new tanks are installed at a facility during a calendar year, annual fees are due on both the 

closed and the installed tanks. 

Release Detection (total reduction for all release detection issues cannot exceed 25%) 

Failure to perform release detection, or failure to perform release detection in a manner that would alert 

         the tank owner/operator to a suspected or confirmed release. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4] 
25% 

Note: For monthly monitoring release detection methods, this includes not receiving at least a minimum number of monthly 

conclusive reports. For example, an "inconclusive" SIR report, or failure to receive a valid ATG test more than one month during 

the time period requested, means that release detection was not performed on the tank. A valid test may include a “Fail” result. 

USTs – 2008 Standards for USTs (effective 8/1/2008) 

Installing a new or replacing a current UST that is not secondarily contained and does not meet 

interstitial monitoring requirements. [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(a)] 
15% 

Installing new or replacing current piping, including piping to remote fills, that is not secondarily contained 
and does not meet interstitial monitoring requirements. [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(b)] 

 

15% 

Installing or replacing a motor fuel dispenser system that does not include under-dispenser containment 

(applies when concrete is broken). [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(d)] 
15% 

Failure to test all secondary containment systems for leaks at the time of installation and within 30 days of a 

year thereafter. [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(e)(1)] 
20% 

Failure to have tank and/or piping installed by an OPS certified installer. Effective 1/1/09 [Cit.ref. §2-2-2-2(b)] 
15% 

Failure to meet the designation and training requirements of the Class A or B Operator certification program. 

[Cit. ref. § 2-3] 
25% 

Failure to notify OPS within 30 days of a change in the designation of a Class A or B Operator. 10% 

Failure to provide a completed response to the Annual Compliance Package by the date established by 

OPS. [Cit. ref. § 2-3-5-2] 
25% 

USTs – 12/22/1998 Requirements [Cit. ref. §2-2-4] 

Operating an underground storage tank (UST) after 12/22/98 that does not meet corrosion protection and 

spill/overfill prevention requirements. [Cit. ref. §2-2-4] 
20% 

Using inventory control after the later of 12/22/98 or when the 10-year extension ends. [Cit.ref. §2-3-4-1(c)] 
20% 

Failure to perform required internal inspection within 10 years of lining tank and every 5 years thereafter. [Cit. 

ref. §2-2-4(b)(1)(ii)] 
15% 

Failure to test cathodic protection systems at least every 3 years after installation. [Cit. ref. §2-3- 3(a)(1-2)] 
15% 

Failure to inspect impressed current cathodic protection systems every 60 days as documented on rectifier 

logs. [Cit. ref. §2-3-3(b)] 
10% 

Failure to test cathodic protection systems within 6 months of making repairs to ensure proper operation. 
This test may occur at any time from the day of the repair to 6 months after the repair allowing sufficient 
time for adequate polarization of the protected item. [Cit. ref. §2-3-3(a)(b)] 

 
10% 

USTs – Inventory Control and Tank System Testing (as required) 

Failure to record daily inventory readings or calculations in a manner that could detect a release of 1.0 
percent of flow-through plus 130 gallons on a monthly basis. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2-(a)(2)] 

 
20% 

Failure to perform monthly reconciliation according to approved formula. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2(a)] 15% 

Failure to perform annual tank tightness test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-5-2] 15% 

Failure to perform annual tightness test on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 15% 

Failure to perform 3-year tightness test on suction line, if required. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual leak detector operations test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1) or 2-3-5-2(a)(3)] 15% 
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Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 

USTs – Manual Tank Gauging and Tank System Testing (as required) 

Failure to record and average tank liquid level measurements at beginning and end of required minimum idle 

period. [Cit. ref. § 2-3-4-2(b)(3)] 
20% 

For USTs 1001-2000 gallons, failure to perform annual tank tightness test [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2(b)(1)(ii)] 
15% 

Failure to perform annual tightness test on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 15% 

Failure to perform 3-year tightness test on suction line, if required. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual leak detector operations test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1) or 2-3-5-2(a)(3)] 15% 

USTs – Monthly Monitoring (SIR, ATGs, Interstitial, Water Well and Vapor Well monitoring) and Tank System Testing (as 

required) 

Submittal of Inconclusive, No data, or Invalid reports or failure to have a valid test for 3 or more months 
during time period requested (all other months must have a valid test.) [Cit. ref.§2-3-4-2] 

 

25% 

Submittal of Inconclusive, No data, or Invalid reports or failure to have a valid test for 2 months during time 

period requested (all other months must have a valid test.) [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2] 
20% 

Submittal of Inconclusive, No data, or Invalid reports or failure to have a valid test for 1 month during time 

period requested (all other months must have a valid test.) [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2] 
15% 

Failure to properly maintain and/or test the monthly monitoring system according to manufacturer’s 

instructions. [Cit. ref. 2-3-4-1(a)(2)] 
5% 

Failure to perform line tightness test within 30 days following the date of the completion of a repair on 

underground piping. [Cit. ref. § 2-2-5(e)(1)] 
15% 

Failure to perform annual line tightness test on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual line leak detector operations test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1) or 2-3-5-2(a)(3)] 
15% 

Failure to perform 3-year tightness test on suction line, if required. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to check for evidence of a release in secondary containment area at least every 30 days. 

Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(e)(3)] 
10% 

Failure to test sump sensors annually by manual tripping. Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(e)(4)] 15% 

ASTs 

Failure to perform required monthly visual inspections of entire AST system. [Cit. ref. §3-3-4-2(b)] 
20% 

Failure to perform initial testing and/or tightness testing requirements prior to placing the ASTs into service. 

[Cit. ref. § 3-3-4-1(a) and 3-3-4-1(b)] 
25% 

Failure to perform annual inspection of all steel ASTs within 12 months after 4/14/11 and during the same 
month in each year thereafter. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-4-2(c)(ii)] 20% 

Failure to perform periodic external, internal inspections and leak testing according to schedule determined 

in regulation. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-4-2(d)] 
25% 

Operating any tank installed after 9/30/94 that has no spill/overfill prevention equipment: [Cit. ref. §3-3-

1(a)(3)] 

Secondary containment type tanks without diking or impounding protection and tanks at retail locations must 

have equipment that will automatically stop the delivery of liquid to the tank when the liquid level in the tank 

reaches 95 percent of capacity OR sound an audible alarm when the liquid level in the tank reaches 90 

percent of capacity. 

 

 
20% 

Failure to perform and document annual calibration of tank volume gauge. [Cit. ref. § 3-3- 

1(a)(2)(i)] 
10% 

Failure to have installed, equipment that will automatically stop the delivery of liquid OR sound an audible 
alarm that can be heard by the delivery operator OR to perform pre-delivery ullage calculations for all tanks. 
(One of the three is required). [Cit. ref. §3-3-1(a)(3)] 

 
20% 

Failure to visually inspect for corrosion by 10-1-99 and every 2 years thereafter if AST or metal supporting 

structure contacts soil or other electrolyte and AST is not protected against corrosion. [Cit. ref. §3-3-2(e)] 
 

20% 

After 12/22/96, operating an AST with no secondary containment method or device. [Cit. ref.§3-2-3-2-

3(e)(1)(ii)] 
25% 

Failure to perform monthly visual inspection on secondary containment tank. 

(required if secondary containment tank has no special draining or diking) [Cit. ref. §3-3-3(b)] 
5% 
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Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 

Failure to verify monthly that interstitial monitoring is operating properly. [Cit. ref. §3-3-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to perform line tightness test within 30 days following the date of the completion of a repair on 

underground piping. [Cit. ref. § 3-2-3(f)(iv)] 
15% 

Failure to perform annual line tightness test on underground line (pressurized or suction). [Cit.ref. §3-3-4-
2(d)(1)(ii)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized underground line. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-3(a)(4)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual line leak detectors operations test on pressurized underground line. [Cit. ref. §3-3-

4-2(c)] 
15% 

Operating an AST installed after 9/30/94 without required corrosion protection. [Cit. ref. §3-3-2] 20% 

After 12/22/96, operating an AST without emergency vents. [Cit. ref. §3-2-3(e)(1)(i)] 25% 

After 12/22/96, operating an AST facility that does not meet security requirements. [Cit. ref. 3- 2-(e)(1)(iii)] 15% 

Until 12/22/98, failure to have emergency shut-off valves in place on suction pumps. [Cit. ref.§3-3-15(a)] 
10% 

After 12/22/98, failure to install solenoid valve and/or vacuum-actuated shutoff valve.[Cit. ref. §3-2-3(2)] 20% 

Release Reporting (total reduction for all release reporting issues cannot exceed 10%) 

Failure to perform system check within 7 days, or another reasonable time period specified by the 

Director. [Cit. ref. §4-2(a)] 
10% 

Failure to perform site check within 7 days, or another reasonable time period specified by the Director. 

[Cit. ref. §4-2(b)] 
10% 

Failure to report a suspected release, according to current regulations, to the office of the Division of Oil 

& Public Safety Technical Assistance Line (303-318-8547) within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-1] 
 

A suspected release includes, but is not limited to: 

 Failure of any tank or line tightness test 

 Failure of any monthly monitoring release detection method 

 Absence of a "pass" during the month (i.e. Inconclusive, No Data or Invalid reports) for any 

monthly monitoring release detection method (i.e. ATG, SIR and Interstitial monitoring) 

 For USTs using inventory control, 2 consecutive months where monthly 

reconciliation figure exceeds the allowable tolerance 

 Stained soils 

 Petroleum vapors in soils, basements, sewer or utility lines 

 Elevated field equipment readings 

 
 
 
 

 
10% 

Reporting a suspected release within 24 hours to an official agency having jurisdiction over the facility 

(e.g., local fire department, Colorado Dept. of Public Health & Environment), but not reporting it to OPS 

within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-1] 

 
5% 

Failure to report a suspected release occurring between 7/1/89 and 12/1/89 to any official agency within 24 
hours. [Cit. ref. CRS § 8-20.5-208(2)] 10% 

Failure to report a confirmed release, according to current regulations, to the office of the Division of Oil & 

Public Safety Technical Assistance Line (303-318-8547) within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-3] 

A confirmed release includes but is not limited to: 

 Free product (including sheen on groundwater or surface water) 

 Laboratory analytical results above detection limits 

 
10% 

Reporting a confirmed release within 24 hours to an official agency having jurisdiction over the facility (e.g., 

local fire department, Colorado Dept. of Public Health & Environment), but not reporting it to OPS within 24 

hours. [Cit. ref. §4-3] 

 
5% 

Failure to report a confirmed release occurring between 7/1/89 and 12/1/89 to any official agency within 24 

hours. [Cit. ref. CRS § 8-20.5-208(2)] 
10% 

Failure to submit a Site Summary Form within 60 days of a release (for releases after 7/1/09).  

[Cit. ref. §5-3(b)] 
10% 

Failure to submit a Site Characterization Report within the risk-based time frame established by regulation. 

[Cit. ref. §5-2] 
10% 

Failure to submit a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) within 60 days of OPS request. [Cit. ref. §5-3] 10% 

Failure to implement the Corrective Action Plan (CAP) as directed by the Director. [Cit. ref. §5-3(b) ] 
10% 
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Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 

Failure to establish and maintain a groundwater monitoring program (for releases after 7/1/09). [Cit. ref. §5-

3-(a)(1)(iii)] 
10% 

Closure (total reduction for all closure issues cannot exceed 20%) 

Failure to provide written notice to OPS at least 10 days prior to placing a UST or AST system in temporary 

closure. Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §3-4-1(a)] 
15% 

Failure to submit record of prior 12 months of release detection and corrosion testing for tanks and lines or, in 
lieu of these records, results of precision tightness test for tanks and lines and a site assessment with 
notification of temporary closure for UST or AST system. UST Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §2-4-1(a)] AST [Cit. 
ref. § 3-4-1(a)] UST 

 
10% 

Failure to provide written notice to OPS no more than 30 days before placing a UST or AST back into service. 

Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §2-4-1(a)] UST [Cit. ref. §3-4-1(e)] AST 
15% 

Failure to submit documentation of a passing tightness test for the tanks and lines conducted 

within 30 days prior to putting the UST back into service. Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §2-4-1(f)] 
10% 

Failure to submit documentation of a passing tightness test for the tanks and lines conducted within 30 days 

prior to putting the AST back into service and provide corrosion protection records if applicable. [Cit. ref. § 3-

4-1(e)] 

 
10% 

Failure to permanently close a UST or AST within 12 months of taking it out of service or receive a written 
extension of the 12 month temporary closure period. [UST Cit. ref. §2-4-1(e) (Extension portion effective 
8/1/08) and [AST Cit. ref. §3-4-1(d)] 

 

10% 

Failure to provide written notice to OPS at least 10 days before permanently closing a UST or an AST. [Cit. ref. 

§3-4-2(a)] 
10% 

Failure to provide any written closure notice to OPS before permanently closing a UST or an AST. [Cit. ref. §3-

4-2(a)] AST [Cit. ref. §2-4-2] UST 
15% 

Failure to submit record of prior 12 months of release detection and corrosion testing (if applicable) for tanks 
and lines with notification of permanent closure for AST system (not required if documentation was submitted 
with temporary closure notification). [Cit. ref. § 3-4-2)] 

 
10% 

Substantial Noncompliance (potential for complete denial) 

Maximum reduction imposed in any 2 of the categories: release detection, closure and release reporting 

Operating an AST after 12/22/96 that does not meet the 12/22/96 upgrade requirements or has not been permanently closed 

pursuant to regulation at the time of release discovery. [Cit. ref. §3-2-3(e) (1)] 

Operating a UST after 12/22/98 that does not meet the 12/22/98 requirements pertaining to spill/overfill prevention and corrosion 

protection or has not been permanently closed pursuant to regulation at the time of release discovery. [Cit. ref. §2-2-4] 

Allowing the delivery of product into a UST that has been identified by OPS as ineligible to receive product [Cit. ref.§2-6] AND/OR 
removing, defacing, altering or otherwise tampering with a red tag so that the information contained on the tag is not legible. 
Effective 8/1/08 [Cit. ref. §6-2-1] 

 


