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Subject Percentage Reduction for Non-compliance with Petroleum Storage Tank (UST) Regulations; 
Denial for Substantial Non-compliance

Adopted 1/17/2020; 10/15/2014; 5/18/2012; 12/19/2008; 7/21/2006; 7/26/2002; 1/21/2000; 5/21/1999; 
4/4/1997; 1/5/1996; 8/4/1995

The Committee will use the following guidelines as it determines the amount of percentage reduction, if any, to apply 

to the reimbursement award noncompliance, as well as whether an application should be denied for substantial 

noncompliance. 

The tank operating regulatory issues to be considered are: 

A. Registration

B. Release Detection

C. Release Reporting

D. Closure

Exceptions to Policy 4
Abandoned/orphaned tank exceptions
No percentage reduction applies, nor are unpaid registration fees or penalties due, if the violation pertains to an 

abandoned or orphan tank. 

Registration exceptions
No percentage reduction applies, nor will registration fees and penalties be collected, for any full year when the 

applicant was not the owner/operator. 

Release reporting exceptions
No percentage reduction applies for release reporting violations that occurred when the applicant was not the 

owner/operator. 

Closure exceptions
1. No percentage reduction applies for closure violations concerning a tank that was permanently closed before

the applicant became the owner/operator of the facility if the tank is not involved in the remediation to

which the subject application pertains.

2. No percentage reduction applies if, at the time the applicant became the owner/operator, tanks were in

temporary closure longer than permitted by the regulations provided the applicant permanently closes the

tanks properly within six months of becoming the owner/operator of the facility, or receives an extension to

temporary closure from the Division of Oil and Public Safety (OPS).

3. No percentage reduction applies for closure violations that occur after the applicant is no longer the

owner/operator.

(Citation references are to the Colorado Division of Oil and Public Safety's Storage Tank Regulations, found at 7 

CCR 1101-14 and Colorado Revised Statutes, found at C.R.S. 8-20.5.) 
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Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 

Registration (total reduction for all registration issues cannot exceed 10%) 
Failure to register petroleum storage tanks with OPS within 30 days after putting tanks into service.  

[Cit. ref. §2-2-3(UST) and §3-2-4(2)(ii) (AST)] 

 

10% 

Failure to pay annual tank registration fees in year(s) due. [Cit. ref. §2-2-3(j) and §3-2-3(AST)] 5% 

Failure to submit updated registration form within 30 days of change in operation for USTs. [Cit. ref. §2-2-
3(d)] 

5% 

Failure to submit updated registration form within 30 days for ASTs. [Cit. ref. §3-2-4(a)(2)(iii) ] 10% 

Note: When tanks are closed and new tanks are installed at a facility during a calendar year, annual fees are due on both the 
closed and the installed tanks. 

Release Detection (total reduction for all release detection issues cannot exceed 25%) 
Failure to perform release detection, or failure to perform release detection in a manner that would alert 
the tank owner/operator to a suspected or confirmed release. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4] 

 

25% 

Note: For monthly monitoring release detection methods, this includes not receiving at least a minimum number of monthly 
conclusive reports. For example, an "inconclusive" SIR report, or failure to receive a valid ATG test more than one month during 
the time period requested, means that release detection was not performed on the tank. A valid test may include a “Fail” result. 

USTs – 2020 Requirements (Effective 1/1/2020)  
Failure to test spill buckets on USTs at least every three years - 2-3-5(a)(1) 15% 

Failure to test containment sumps used for piping interstitial monitoring as the primary release detection 
method at least every three years - 2-3-5(a)(1) 

15% 

Failure to test overfill prevention devices on USTs at least every three years - 2-3-5(a)(2) 15% 

Failure to perform annual functionality testing of release detection equipment - 2-3-4-1(a)(2) 

 
15% 

Submittal of incomplete monthly visual inspections or failure to inspect three or more months during time 
period requested - 2-3-6-1(a) 

25% 

USTs – 2008 Standards for USTs (Effective 8/1/2008) 
Installing a new or replacing a current UST that is not secondarily contained and does not meet interstitial 
monitoring requirements. [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(a)] 

15% 

Installing new or replacing current piping, including piping to remote fills, that is not secondarily contained 
and does not meet interstitial monitoring requirements. [Cit. ref. §2-2- 1(b)] 

 
15% 

Installing or replacing a motor fuel dispenser system that does not include under-dispenser containment 
(applies when concrete is broken). [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(d)] 

15% 

Failure to test all secondary containment systems for leaks at the time of installation and within 30 days of a 
year thereafter. [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(e)(1)] 

20% 

Failure to have tank and/or piping installed by an OPS certified installer. [Cit. ref. §2-2-2-2(b)] 
15% 

Failure to meet the designation and training requirements of the Class A or B Operator certification program. 
[Cit. ref. § 2-3] 25% 

Failure to notify OPS within 30 days of a change in the designation of a Class A or B Operator. [Cit. ref. §2-3-
1-6] 

10% 

Failure to provide a completed response to the Annual Compliance Package by the date established by 
OPS. [Cit. ref. § 2-3-5-2] 

25% 

USTs – 12/22/1998 Requirements [Cit. ref. §2-2-4] 
Operating an underground storage tank (UST) after 12/22/98 that does not meet corrosion protection and 
spill/overfill prevention requirements. [Cit. ref. §2-2-4] 

20% 

Using inventory control after the later of 12/22/98 or when the 10-year extension ends. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2(1)] 
20% 

Failure to perform required internal inspection within 10 years of lining tank and every 5 years thereafter. 
[Cit. ref. §2-2-4(b)(1)(ii)] 15% 

Failure to test cathodic protection systems at least every 3 years after installation. [Cit. ref. §2- 3- 3(a)(1-2)] 
15% 

Failure to inspect impressed current cathodic protection systems every 60 days as documented on rectifier 
logs. [Cit. ref. §2-3-3(b)] 

10% 

Failure to test cathodic protection systems within 6 months of making repairs to ensure proper operation. 
This test may occur at any time from the day of the repair to 6 months after the repair allowing sufficient time 
for adequate polarization of the protected item. [Cit. ref. §2-3- 3(a)(b)] 

 

10% 

USTs – Inventory Control and Tank System Testing (as required) 
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Failure to record daily inventory readings or calculations in a manner that could detect a release of 1.0 
percent of flow-through plus 130 gallons on a monthly basis. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2- (a)(2)] 

 
20% 

Failure to perform monthly reconciliation according to approved formula. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2(a)] 15% 

Failure to perform annual tank tightness test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2(c)] 15% 

Failure to perform annual tightness test on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 15% 

Failure to perform 3-year tightness test on suction line, if required. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual leak detector operations test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1) or 2-3-5-2(a)(3)] 15% 

USTs – Manual Tank Gauging and Tank System Testing (as required) 
Failure to record and average tank liquid level measurements at beginning and end of required minimum 
idle period. [Cit. ref. § 2-3-4-2(b)(3)] 

20% 

For USTs 1001-2000 gallons, failure to perform annual tank tightness test [Cit. ref. §2-3-4- 2(b)(1)(ii)] 
15% 

Failure to perform annual tightness test on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)] 15% 

Failure to perform 3-year tightness test on suction line, if required. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual leak detector operations test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1) or 2-3-6-2(a)(3)] 15% 

USTs – Monthly Monitoring (SIR, ATGs, Interstitial, Water Well and Vapor Well monitoring) and Tank System Testing (as 

required) 
Submittal of Inconclusive, No data, or Invalid reports or failure to have a valid test for 3 or more months 
during time period requested (all other months must have a valid test.) [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2] 

 
25% 

Submittal of Inconclusive, No data, or Invalid reports or failure to have a valid test for 2 months during time 
period requested (all other months must have a valid test.) [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2] 

20% 

Submittal of Inconclusive, No data, or Invalid reports or failure to have a valid test for 1 month during time 
period requested (all other months must have a valid test.) [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-2] 15% 

Failure to properly maintain and/or test the monthly monitoring system according to manufacturer’s 
instructions. [Cit. ref. 2-3-4-1(a)(2)] 

5% 

Failure to perform line tightness test within 30 days following the date of the completion of a repair on 
underground piping. [Cit. ref. § 2-2-5(e)(1)] 15% 

Failure to perform annual line tightness test on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)] 15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized line. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual line leak detector operations test. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(a)(1) or 2-3-6- 2(a)(3)] 
15% 

Failure to perform 3-year tightness test on suction line, if required. [Cit. ref. §2-3-4-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to check for evidence of a release in secondary containment area at least every 30 days. [Cit. ref. 
§2-2-1(e)(3)] 

10% 

Failure to test sump sensors annually by manual tripping. [Cit. ref. §2-2-1(e)(4)] 15% 

Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 
ASTs 

Failure to perform required monthly visual inspections of entire AST system. [Cit. ref. §3-3-4-2(b)]  

20% 

Failure to perform initial testing and/or tightness testing requirements prior to placing the ASTs into service. 

[Cit. ref. § 3-3-4-1(a) and 3-3-4-1(b)] 

 

25% 

Failure to perform annual inspection of all steel ASTs within 12 months after 4/14/11 and during the 
same month in each year thereafter. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-4-2(c)(ii)] 

 

20% 

Failure to perform periodic external, internal inspections and leak testing according to schedule determined 

in regulation. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-4-2(d)] 

 

25% 

Operating any tank installed after 9/30/94 that has no spill/overfill prevention equipment: [Cit. ref. §3-3-

1(a)(3)] 

Secondary containment type tanks without diking or impounding protection and tanks at retail locations 
must have equipment that will automatically stop the delivery of liquid to the tank when the liquid level in 
the tank reaches 95 percent of capacity OR sound an audible alarm when the liquid level in the tank reaches 
90 percent of capacity. 

 
 
 

20% 
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Failure to perform and document annual calibration of tank volume gauge. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-1(a)(2)(i)]  

10% 

Failure to have installed, equipment that will automatically stop the delivery of liquid OR sound an audible 
alarm that can be heard by the delivery operator OR to perform pre-delivery ullage calculations for all 
tanks. (One of the three is required). [Cit. ref. §3-3-1(a)(3)] 

 

20% 

Failure to visually inspect for corrosion by 10-1-99 and every 2 years thereafter if AST or metal supporting 

structure contacts soil or other electrolyte and AST is not protected against corrosion. [Cit. ref. §3-3-2(e)] 
 

20% 

After 12/22/96, operating an AST with no secondary containment method or device. [Cit. ref. §3-2-3(e)(1)(ii)] 
25% 

Failure to perform monthly visual inspection on secondary containment tank. 

(required if secondary containment tank has no special draining or diking) [Cit. ref. §3-3-3(b)] 
5% 

Failure to verify monthly that interstitial monitoring is operating properly. [Cit. ref. §3-3-3(b)] 15% 

Failure to perform line tightness test within 30 days following the date of the completion of a  repair 
on underground piping. [Cit. ref. § 3-2-3(f)(iv)] 

15% 

Failure to perform annual line tightness test on underground line (pressurized or suction). [Cit. ref. §3-3-
3(a)(4)] 

15% 

Failure to have operational line leak detectors on pressurized underground line. [Cit. ref. § 3-3-(a)(4)] 20% 

Failure to perform annual line leak detectors operations test on pressurized underground line. [Cit. ref. §3-

3-3(a)(4)] 
15% 

Operating an AST installed after 9/30/94 without required corrosion protection. [Cit. ref. §3-3-2] 20% 

After 12/22/96, operating an AST without emergency vents. [Cit. ref. §3-2-3(e)(1)(i)] 25% 

After 12/22/96, operating an AST facility that does not meet security requirements. [Cit. ref. 3- 2 

3(e)(1)(iii)] 
15% 

After 12/22/98, failure to install solenoid valve and/or vacuum-actuated shutoff valve.[Cit. ref.§3-2-3(e)(2)] 20% 

Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 
Release Reporting (total reduction for all release reporting issues cannot exceed 10%) 
Failure to report a suspected release, according to current regulations, to the OPS Technical Assistance 

Line (303-318-8547) within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-1].  A suspected release includes, but is not limited to: 

• Inconclusive or failed SIR results not overturned by the third-party SIR vendor within 24 hours [Cit. 

ref. §4-1(a)]  

• Discovery of released regulated substance at the UST or AST site or surrounding area [Cit. ref. §4-
1(b)] 

• Unusual operating conditions such as erratic behavior of dispensing equipment, sudden loss of 

product, presence of water in tank or liquid in interstitial space [Cit. ref. §4-1(c)] 

• Release detection monitoring results, including investigation of an alarm, that indicate a release 

may have occurred [Cit. ref. §4-1(d)] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
10% 

Reporting a suspected release within 24 hours to an official agency having jurisdiction over the facility 

(e.g., local fire department, Colorado Dept. of Public Health & Environment), but not reporting it to OPS 

within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-1] 

 
5% 

Failure to report a confirmed release, according to current regulations, to the OPS Technical 

Assistance Line (303-318-8547) within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-3].  A confirmed release includes but is 

not limited to: 

• Failed system test, site check, or sample analytical results with any detections of contaminants of 
concern [Cit. ref. §4-3(a)] 

• A released regulated substance is observed at the site or surrounding area and the source is known 
to be the owner’s/operator’s UST or AST system [Cit. ref. §4-3(b)] 

• A spill/overfill of regulated substance of any volume not cleaned up within 24 hours or a spill/overfill 
of regulated substance over 25 gallons [Cit. ref. §4-3(c)] 

 
10% 

Reporting a confirmed release within 24 hours to an official agency having jurisdiction over the facility 

(e.g., local fire department, Colorado Dept. of Public Health & Environment), but not reporting it to OPS 

within 24 hours. [Cit. ref. §4-3] 

 
5% 

Failure to perform system test within 10 calendar days, or another reasonable time period specified by 

the OPS Director. [Cit. ref. §4-2(a)] 

10% 
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Failure to perform site check within 30 calendar days, or another reasonable time period specified by the OPS 

Director. [Cit. ref. §4-2(b)] 
10% 

Failure to submit a Site Characterization Report within 180 days of the release discovery date. [Cit. ref. §5-2]  

10% 

Failure to submit a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) within one year of the release discovery date. [Cit. ref. §5-3] 10% 

Failure to implement the Corrective Action Plan (CAP) as directed by the Director. [Cit. ref. §5-3(c) ] 
10% 

Compliance Issue Max. Penalty 
Closure (total reduction for all closure issues cannot exceed 20%) 
Failure to provide written notice to OPS at least 10 days prior to placing a UST or AST system in temporary 

closure. [UST Cit. ref. §2-4-1(a)] [AST Cit. ref. §3-4-1(a)] 
15% 

Failure to submit record of prior 12 months of release detection and corrosion testing for tanks and lines or, in 
lieu of these records, results of precision tightness test for tanks and lines and  a site assessment with 
notification of temporary closure for UST or AST system. [UST Cit. ref. §2-4-1(a)] [AST Cit. ref. § 3-4-1(a)] 

 

10% 

Failure to provide written notice to OPS no more than 30 days before placing a UST or AST back into service. 
[UST Cit. ref. §2-4-1(f)] [AST Cit. ref. §3-4-1(e)] 

15% 

Failure to submit documentation of a passing tightness test for the tanks and lines conducted within 30 days 

prior to putting the UST back into service. [Cit. ref. §2-4-1(f)] 
10% 

Failure to submit documentation of a passing tightness test for the tanks and lines conducted within 30 days 
prior to putting the AST back into service and provide corrosion protection records if applicable. [Cit. ref. § 3-4-

1(e)] 

 
10% 

Failure to permanently close a UST or AST within 12 months of taking it out of service or receive a written 
extension of the 12 month temporary closure period. [UST Cit. ref. §2-4-1(e)] [AST Cit. ref. §3-4-1(d)] 

 
10% 

Failure to provide written notice to OPS at least 10 days before permanently closing a UST or an AST.  [UST 

Cit. ref. §2-4-2] [AST Cit. ref. §3-4-2(a)] 
10% 

Failure to provide any written closure notice to OPS before permanently closing a UST or an AST. [UST Cit. 

ref. §2-4-2] [AST Cit. ref. §3-4-2(a)]  
15% 

Failure to submit record of prior 12 months of release detection and corrosion testing (if applicable) for tanks 

and lines with notification of permanent closure for AST system (not required if documentation was submitted 

with temporary closure notification). [Cit. ref. § 3-4-2)] 

 
10% 

Substantial Noncompliance (potential for complete denial) 
Maximum reduction imposed in any 2 of the categories: release detection, closure and release reporting 

Operating an AST after 12/22/96 that does not meet the 12/22/96 upgrade requirements or has not been permanently closed 

pursuant to regulation at the time of release discovery. [Cit. ref. §3-2-3(e) (1)] 

Operating a UST after 12/22/98 that does not meet the 12/22/98 requirements pertaining to spill/overfill prevention and corrosion 

protection or has not been permanently closed pursuant to regulation at the time of release discovery. [Cit. ref. §2-2-4] 

Allowing the delivery of product into a UST that has been identified by OPS as ineligible to receive product [Cit. ref. 

§2-6] AND/OR removing, defacing, altering or otherwise tampering with a red tag so that the information contained on the tag is not 

legible. [Cit. ref. §6-2-1] 
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