Contact the Explosives Program at 720-467-7919 or email@example.com for further information.
Yes. A company with an active Type II Permit (located in-state or out-of-state) may have an employee apply for a Type I Permit regardless of where the person holds their residence as long as he/she meets the permit requirements. Applicants who hold non-U.S. citizenship will need to provide proper documentation with each application (e.g., work visa, permanent alien resident card or ATF clearance).
No, the Colorado Explosives Program does not accept out-of-state explosives licenses as permission to work within the State of Colorado. A Type I Permit Application needs to be completed, approved and issued before an applicant can begin working in Colorado.
An active Type I Permit holder may transfer their permit between companies holding active Type II Explosives Permits without having to reapply or resubmit payment. In this case, the permit holder's permit will remain active and keep the original expiration date. The permit holder should notify the Explosives Program immediately upon transferring to another company so that we may update our records and send the permit holder an updated permit that reflects this change.
Except as specifically allowed by the regulations, it is unlawful for any person to use, possess, control, manufacture, purchase, sell, store, transport, or dispose of any explosive material without possessing a valid permit from the Division of Oil and Public Safety.
Type I Permit: A permit required by and issued by the Division of Oil and Public Safety to individuals who possess and control or have access to explosives materials during the use, transportation, storage, distribution, manufacturing, sale, acquisition or purchase of explosives materials.
Type II Permit: A permit required by and issued by the Division of Oil and Public Safety to corporations, companies, partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations or state or local government agencies involved in the use, purchase, sale, manufacture, transportation or disposal of explosives.
Type III Permit: A permit required by and issued by the Division of Oil and Public Safety to corporations, companies, partnerships, firms, individuals operating a business, associations or state or local government agencies for the storage of explosives in approved magazines.
Yes. Please refer to Federal Explosives Law and Regulations, ¬ß848 (Effect on State Law) and ¬ß555.2 (Relation to Other Provisions of Law) for more information about this topic.
Have not less than one year of experience or on the job training in the use of explosives,
Submit an application,
Submit the application fee of $110.00,
Submit a completed fingerprint card,
Pass a criminal history check, and
Obtain a score of at least 90% on an exam administered by the Division.
See Article 3 Section 3.5 (D) of our regulations for qualifications and Article 3 Section 3.5 (E) for permit limitations. See Article 3 Section 3.6 of our regulations for complete application requirements.
You may print and complete a fillable form application. You may also request an application by sending an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or calling 720-467-7919.
An explosives permit is issued for up to 36 months.
Yes, certain classes and amounts of explosive materials require Type II Permit holders to register with the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) and maintain an active Hazardous Materials Transportation Permit. All Type I Explosives Permit holders who transport explosives are required to have a valid Commercial Driver\'s License (CDL) with a Hazardous Materials Endorsement. The Colorado Public Utilities Commission may be contacted at 303-894-2868.
If you are a renewing applicant submitting training documentation as an alternative to taking the exam, you must submit a digital (.jpg) photo to the Explosives Program at email@example.com at the time you submit your renewal application.
Yes, you must submit an application, pass a criminal background check and receive an "Exam Invitation" from the Explosives Program in order to take the explosives exam. Please bring your valid government-issued photo ID with you to the exam.
The local sheriff's department, fire district/department and residents or businesses near the blast site must be notified that you are planning to blast before the actual blasting event is initiated.